top of page
  • Irene Koch

Ireland

Updated: May 3, 2020


Welcome to Ireland! Pictured is are the gorgeous Cliffs of Moher near Galway, Ireland.


I have 30% Irish ancestry, and the DNA report mentioned the Galway area in particular where my heritage was strong.


Timothy Cummings, my third-great grandfather on Nancy Baarlaer's side, immigrated from Tipperary and worked as a carpenter in Cincinnati. He and his wife Bridget, also an Irish immigrant, had ten kids(!) during their marriage.


John Joseph Roache, my 2nd-great grandfather on Catherine Shaub's side, immigrated from Galway and worked as a switchman for a railroad company in Nashville. He and his wife Catherine, also the daughter of Irish immigrants, had eight kids(!) during their marriage. I had always heard my grandmother's family came from Galway, but apparently, I had enough DNA from Galway that it showed up as a subgroup in my DNA story. Hey, with views like these, I'll take it!


I have at least a few more lines of Irish immigration in my family story, but many of them I am unable to narrow down to a specific locality in Ireland. Hopefully, I will be back on this page soon with more information about them and stories about their life in Ireland.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page